March 16, 2017


By Jewell Drury


Friday morning saw the opening of the new Whale watching path at Noamunga Headland, Boat Harbour.

Federal Member for Paterson Meryl Swanson, Cr Sally Dover and President Peter Murray had the honour of cutting the ribbon to open the new Whale watching path.

Boat Harbour Parks and Reserves volunteers first met with the Port Stephens Council in 2015 regarding the possibility of developing a whale watching path at Noamunga headland, Boat Harbour.

The justification for developing a whale watching path was visitors who were already damaging the headland to see the constantly passing whales.

The Committee applied for various grants and finally received a grant of $20,000 through Federal Member for Paterson Bob Baldwin's office in 2016.

Work commenced in July 2016 and three days later a gravel path was formed to Noamunga headland.

Following a further three months of hard work, 50 square metres of eroded ground was transformed into a walking track from Telegraph Point to Iluka reserve with the assistance of the Green Army, Anna Bay Scouts, Tomaree High School and a handful of passionate volunteers.

The result is a delightful walkable path through Iluka reserve to the beach.

"I am very proud to have been a part of the project and I would like to thank the committee members and the volunteers for giving such a great gift to our community, " Peter Murray, President of the Boat Harbour Parks and reserves volunteers told Bay News Of The Area.

"It's been a wonderful project with six to 12 local committed volunteers putting in many hours to see the project come to fruition," Mr Murray said.

Mr Murray's family even rolled up their sleeves with son Garry providing bricks through Austral for the barbecue as well as son Mick along with mate Doug, who erected the fence paling frames to build the concrete signs that now direct the community around the headland.

Many thanks were made to some local businesses and individuals for their unrelenting support and work with the project. 

Ribbon cutting honours were given to Federal Member Meryl Swanson, President Peter Murray and Cr Sally Dover.

Invited guests and members of the community enjoying the walk along the new Whale watching path.